Garden Progress April 2013

My third Spring of gardening is fully upon me. You know, the one where I said I FINALLY wasn’t going to spend the first warm days of the year sweating over a mound of dirt? After firmly deciding not to expand the garden last fall (when it would have made sense to expand so that everything would ALREADY BE READY in the Spring) the arrival of the January seed catalogs, and with it my repeated to-scale garden plan drawing , I decided I absolutely couldn’t survive with just the 10 beds I already had in place (four of which were unframed… oh that just wouldn’t do either).

And so the insanity began.

Still snow on the ground but I laid tarps anyway trying to kill the grass (turns out I made a nice greenhouse and the grass underneath was bright and healthy, sheesh)

Still snow on the ground but I laid tarps anyway trying to kill the grass (turns out I made a nice greenhouse and the grass underneath was bright and healthy, sheesh)

First I got someone who actually knows something about carpentry to help me design the beds and help me buy the right wood. I then had a moment of insane panic and regret as I handed over my Home Depot credit card to pay almost $400 for just the wood to build the garden beds. Later when I was “fluffing” up my old beds (the ones I was soooooo proud of building on my own last year) I cracked the corner (leaving only 2 in tact… my FIL ran over another one) by leaning the pitchfork on it. <sigh> I guess the money was worth it (you know, unless we move next year leaving this gorgeous garden behind!). So, the building began and my buddy Dennis and I made a great team–we put together SEVEN beds ranging from 4’x6′ to 4’x10′ and that’s when the real work began. I’ve been spending every spare moment trenching the beds. OH THE DIGGING. and ooooooooh, the rocks. Have I mentioned I live right next to the section of town called “Rockville”? A totally appropriate name. ugh.

April 23 037

The giant rock at the corner of one of the beds I had to dig out… at least 40lbs, it took two of us (one to crowbar it up and the other to roll it out). Yikes.

I’m still not done.

 

**sorry this post didn’t get published at the right time–this is almost two months ago and the garden (all but one new bed) is FULL of green growing things!  it’ll be a fun comparison anyway 🙂

Leave a Reply

