My seed beginnings

This is the first year I’m starting seeds indoors.  My mother gave me all her seed starting supplies including a number of 6 cell pots, a bunch of flats and (drumroll) three grow lights!!!

I bought some chain, drilled some holes and hung the lights (thanks hubby), tossed some dirt into some cells and VOILA ready to plant!

So here’s the setup:

yep, that's a crib rail stacked on some saw horses.

This is in my basement. Yep, that’s a crib rail stacked on some saw horses.  That’s just one light, I can hang three deep but I’m annoyed with the setup already because I can’t SEE the back without swinging lights out of the way.

Some of my spinach started to send roots out through the bottom of their cells so i transplanted them into some milk-carton cells (deeper and wider) .  They are much happier in there.

Some of my spinach started to send roots out through the bottom of their cells so i transplanted them into some milk-carton cells (deeper and wider) . They are much happier in there.

I tried starting peppers on top of the fridge (they like to germinate at 70-75)

I tried starting peppers on top of the fridge (they like to germinate at 70-75) FYI it made the “cow pots” mold.  Yuck.  And only one single pepper has grown so far.  I might be buying some pepper seedlings!

Micro greens--they'll be the first thing we harvest!

Micro greens–they’ll be the first thing we harvest!

So, you’re asking, what am I growing under those pretty lights?  Here ya go: Spinach, kale, lettuce, peas (I couldn’t resist but they’re not really an indoor kinda crop), peppers (theoretically), mint, basil, marigolds, broccoli and tomatoes, tomatoes, tomatoes!  I think I have six different varieties of tomatoes right now.  They are the real reason that I wanted to start things indoors, you can’t get the same variety in started seedlings from garden stores.  I’m growing two different kinds of sauce tomatoes (Heinz and Polish Linguista), some cherry and a bunch of “fresh eating” tomatoes including some Yellow Pears!

I’m so friggin excited about this season!!!!

Leave a Reply

