The snow finally melted… into garden insanity!

The snow between the beds was still hanging on in the Northern shadows this morning but I went out there anyway!  The weather was beautiful so the kids and I spent most of the day outside.  Remember me talking about the garden expansions I was contemplating?  Well, they are turning into fact.  We’re adding a strip of four foot wide beds along the North side of the garden (three of them approximately 6′, 8′ and 9′ long) and another two beds along the East side (four feet by eight feet).  Plus I’m going to add a foot to foot and a half bed that will run OUTSIDE the entire fence that will be filled with flowers and herbs–bring on the pollinators!

It looks a lot bigger when everything is laid out…  I hope I’m not getting in over my head!  I’m really, REALLY excited to get going!

From the bottom of the yard the blue tarped area looks HUGE!  That'll be the new Northern beds and the garden border (I didn't tarp that off all around yet).

From the bottom of the yard the blue tarped area looks HUGE! That’ll be the new Northern beds and the garden border (I didn’t tarp that off all around yet).

From the Northern side of the garden... is it just me or does the new section look as big as the old section?

From the Northern side of the garden… is it just me or does the new section look as big as the old section?  Those are my milk-jug greenhouses helping hold the tarp down (the kids did knock over two already so those may not grow anything… argh)

The mulching of the walkways didn't turn out the way I'd planned... mostly because I was too busy with the new baby to supervise properly so the mulch was laid over the weeds instead of the weeds being pulled first.  Now I'm going back, pulling up the weeks and raking the pathways flat before putting landscaping fabric down.  I'm not sure if I'm going to use straw or get more mulch for on top of that (I worry the free mulch from the town was what brought in all the bugs last year).

The mulching of the walkways didn’t turn out the way I’d planned… mostly because I was too busy with the new baby to supervise properly so the mulch was laid over the weeds instead of the weeds being pulled first. Now I’m going back, pulling up the weeks and raking the pathways flat before putting landscaping fabric down. I’m not sure if I’m going to use straw or get more mulch for on top of that (I worry the free mulch from the town was what brought in all the bugs last year).  I strategically placed the raked debris where the flower bed will be going!

Another look from the very top of my yard.  I need another tarp for the big gap--I had no idea how much tarp I was going to need!

Another look from the very top of my yard. I need another tarp for the big gap–I had no idea how much tarp I was going to need!

2 responses to “The snow finally melted… into garden insanity!

    • the stump is our old apple tree but that came down when the twins were just barely one, that freak snow storm in october that pulled up half the trees in CT! But otherwise you’re imagining things 🙂 and yes, it’s HUGE!

Leave a Reply

