Homemade Microwave Popcorn–Cheesy Herb Flavor

I always burn the bags of microwave popcorn.

Always.

I enjoy popcorn but the microwave ones only taste good if they are full fat and covered in all kinds of stuff (’cause that ain’t real butter in there!).  I don’t own an air popper, I don’t own one of those handy stove top cookers (nor do I have the time to man one while the popcorn pops) so what is a girl like me to do?2013-02-08_18-39-28_245

Grab a paper bag and follow me.

Take a brown paper lunch bag (the color doesn’t matter but the size does) and add 1/2 cup (or just a little less) popcorn kernels.  Roll the top of the paper bag down two or three times and place upright in the microwave.  Cook for three minutes (as with any microwave popcorn listen and when you hear the popping slow to 3 or more seconds in between pops stop cooking).

…and now comes the fun stuff!

The ingredients

The ingredients

Melt 1-2 TBSP of butter in the microwave (in a separate dish).  Drizzle over popcorn.  Sprinkle on some parmesan cheese, a few shakes of garlic powder, about 1/2 tsp of dill, and top it off with salt. If you’re feeling spicy you can also add a dash of red pepper for a little kick.

Toss/mix the popcorn and enjoy!

3 responses to “Homemade Microwave Popcorn–Cheesy Herb Flavor

  1. Nice! We don’t have a working microwave or any fancy gadgets either, but we make ours stovetop quite easily. Coat the bottom of a big pot with olive oil (or any high-heat oil), then a layer of kernels (I’ve never measured…). Heat on medium-high with a lid almost on (so steam can escape) and let-er-rip. Sometimes I have to dump some of the popped corn out into a waiting bowl while it’s still going to make room, if I put in too many kernels. Anyway, just wanted to add another technique! I love the herbs and spices you chose – I love to put nutritional yeast on ours, and I’ll have to get some dill to help recreate Little Lads… 🙂

    • that’s where I got the idea for the Dill!!!
      And that’s good to know I could do it on the stovetop. Honestly I love the melted butter (you know when it soaks into a kernel and kinda melts it…mmmmm) but I may try on the stove to broaden my popcorn making horizons.

      (p.s. thanks for giving me your old microwave–sorry yours died right after!)

  2. I like to make it on the stovetop too, but if if I get lazy (which happens a lot!), I make microwave.

    And we are prolific popcorn eaters in my family

Leave a Reply

