Quesadilla Pizza!

Because: Why not?

2013-02-07_11-22-23_345

Okay, let me just say–YUM!  I made a bunch of whole wheat tortillas (recipe at 100 Days of Real Food) and had one left so I couldn’t quite make the quesadilla I wanted plus I’d just run out of the fabulous black bean salsa I really wanted to eat in the first place.  So, I rummaged through the fridge and came up with this: Quesadilla Pizza!

Ingredients:

  • Whole wheat tortilla
  • Shredded cheddar cheese (I suppose you could use any cheese but I LOVE cheddar in my quesadilla!)
  • Raw mushrooms (they cooked up quite nicely in the pan just like that)
  • Chopped pepperoni (use any toppings you’d usually put on pizza, I wish I’d thought to put some of the Swish chard greens we have in the fridge on it!)
  • Pizza sauce (or spaghetti sauce, our sauce is multi-purpose)

Directions:

Put tortilla on a hot skillet (medium heat) and put toppings on.  Let sit for a few minutes, until cheese is melted.  I did not add any extra oil, the tortillas have enough naturally in them that they won’t stick pans.

Let that puppy cool a minute or two before you dig in.

Leave a Reply

