Spicing up a ham sandwich


I hate getting stuck in the doldrums of pb&j, pasta and nuggets for the kids’ lunches!  Today I was inspired to try something different that they’d actually eat (hopefully!).

Ham slices (thin sliced works best, especially for little munchers but I didn’t have thin so I cut mine into slivers so they wouldn’t pull an entire slice out with the first bite) on a slice of wheat bread with thin apple slices (our were Gala, tart apples work really well too) and cheddar cheese on top.  You can see from the picture that I got a little fancy with my cheese, hey, sometimes with this crew it really does come down to presentation!  I also like a little honey mustard on mine under the ham (just a little, though, or when it gets melty the ham will slide right off the sandwich!).

Dec 04 024

I put them in the oven at 400 for about 15 minutes until the cheese was melting.  I had to switch to broil for a minute because the troops were getting restless but the apples were still a bit crunchy because of that (still tasty though).  The reviews were mixed.  My girls dissect all their sandwiches, even pb&j so, as expected they pulled these apart too.  Twinkles at ALL of hers, Pinky ate most of hers.  Punkin announced that next time I make these he’d like his without apples but he did appreciate the checkerboard cheese so I guess I’ll call it a win!

 

Leave a Reply

