Too much Zucchini? Try this recipe!

Attack of the summer squash!!!  I have four zucchini plants this year, down from about 10 different squash plants last year.  I tried to use my zucchini as I picked it or give it away but I’ve got a fridge full of them anyway!

It’s a little crazy around here…  My youngest child turned four weeks old yesterday and I’ve just gotten to the point where, most days, I feel in control of my life.  Because of a sick baby (Pinky) and a mistake on my part about the date of my next midwife appointment I had two “free” days this week.  Yay!  After the insanity of the last week and a half it has been a much needed respite.  Somehow that’s all we needed to refresh and recharge.  The first day went remarkably smoothly (and that is saying something when you’ve got four kids, four and under!).  I cleaned: the living room (including vacuuming), the dining room (twice), a load of laundry, a load of hand dishes and ran the dishwasher and Dean cleaned his room (well, I helped him finish up).  Peanut slept most of the morning which left me free to play with the girls and they were happy to go down for a nap. 

So it was after this long series of events that I found myself with a baby asleep (in his bed not on me!) and three big kids playing happily outside together with time to figure out a creative way to use up some zucchini!

Cheesy Zucchini Sauce Over Pasta

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp butter

2 Tbsp flour

1/2 c whole milk or cream (you can use whatever milk you have but the thicker the milk the better the sauce)

1 medium zucchini

1/4 cup parmesan cheese

1/4 cup cheddar cheese (you can use other cheeses these are just the two I like the taste of best!)

salt to taste (optional)

Directions:

Chop the zucchini into large chunks.  Steam until soft (it doesn’t take long!) and then puree until smooth  in a food processor or blender and set aside. Cook pasta, rinse in cool water and set aside. Put butter in a small saucepan or pot on med-low heat.  When it is melted add the flour and whisk together.  The mixture should be thick and bubbling.  Immediately add the milk.  Continue to cook on med-low.  As soon as the milk starts to bubble add the cheese, stirring regularly.  Wait a minute then add the pureed zucchini.  Stir well.  Mix pasta and sauce together in a large bowl.  Serve warm.

**additional idea: add in quartered cherry tomatoes or chopped and steamed broccoli when you mix the pasta and sauce together.

I wish I’d gotten pictures of this beautiful meal but my kids ate it too fast! I had no idea it’d be such a hit.

Leave a Reply

