No-Cook Oatmeal (yum!)

A friend of mine pinned a food idea on pinterest that I just HAD to try!  First off it’s no-cook.  Second it’s a breakfast food (cereal or eggs is about what we’ve got on our regular repertoire with pancakes as a “special” treat if I find myself with a free half hour to mix and then stand in front of the stove).  Third I really love oatmeal!

So, No-Cook Oatmeal here I come!

I went to the original link and drooled over the pictures.  I really like oatmeal!  At first I followed the Nutella Banana recipe as exactly as I could (substituting the French Vanilla Yogurt I had in the fridge instead of plain).

  • 1/4 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup low-fat yogurt
  • Half a banana – cut up
  • 1 large spoonful of Nutella (we used a big spoon)

Next morning–DELICOUSNESS!!! In fact it was almost too sweet!  My only other complaint was that there wasn’t very much oatmeal and it had the consistency of something more like a bread pudding than a breakfast.

For attempt number two I tried the Apple Cinnamon recipe but I doubled the amount of oatmeal and used plain yogurt this time.

  • 1/2 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats (they’d originally said 1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup low-fat yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon honey ** see changes below
  • 3 large spoonfuls of chunky applesauce
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

Again, delicious!  This was more like a breakfast, though, which is what I was aiming for.  My husband took a jar to work (which he ate during a meeting causing everyone to ask what on earth he was eating from a jar!) and his only complaint was that it wasn’t sweet enough.  I tried another jar with a bit of extra honey and found it delicious. Problem solved:  Now it’s 2 tsps of honey!

I had also remade the Nutella Banana recipe with plain yogurt and 1/2 cup of oatmeal (sans banana, my husband didn’t like it already in there and I figured I’d just add it back in when I ate it in the morning).  That did not work as well.  It came out to be too gluey and I had put less Nutella in which was a mistake now that I was using plain yogurt!

Here’s the version I’m going to try tonight:

  • 2/3 cup uncooked old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup low-fat yogurt
  • (Half a banana – cut up, to be added at eating time)
  • 2 Tablespoons of Nutella

I may try one with plain yogurt and one with the french vanilla to see which one I like best!

Oh, I forgot to mention that the troops loved both helping me make this fabulous breakfast but they also loved eating it.  I think they agreed that the chocolate one was a bit rich, though, because I got to finish off all of their jars–yum!

4 responses to “No-Cook Oatmeal (yum!)

  1. Pingback: Real Food Challenge Commences!!! « Mama Mia's World·

  2. Pingback: Real Food Challenge Commences!!! | Living in the Shoe·

Leave a Reply

