Stuffed Peppers–Veggie and Sausage

I just plopped this recipe into the crock pot (that’s my favorite thing about it, by the way, I always hated cooking stuffed peppers in the oven because they were never done right!) so I’m not actually sure how it’ll taste.  Tune in later tonight for ammendments to this recipe.

First of all it took me just under 30 minutes to prepare (that does not include the time it took me to clear the counters and wash the crock pot) which is AWESOME.  I combined a meat and vegetarian recipe again for this one–after all who says meat eaters have to be short on the veggies, right? That also makes this recipe SUPER easy to translate to a complete vegetarian meal, I didn’t use much meat anyway so you could just take that out without any substitutions or add more beans and mushrooms to fill in.

Sausage and Veggie Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients:

4-5 peppers–red, yellow, orange or green, tops removed (and retained) cored and seeded (I used a combination of colors and managed to fit 5 into my crock pot–I tested how they’d fit BEFORE I filled them)

28oz can of diced tomatoes

15oz can of kidney beans (this was from the veggie recipe but I love the added protein without being an expensive or high fat meat)

1/2 large onion (meant to make it 1 whole large onion but I forgot to chop the 2nd half and found it hiding under the pepper tops at the end!)

1 1/2 Tbsp diced garlic (I use the jar of minced from my fridge but this would be about 3 cloves of fresh, use your discretion)

4 baby bella mushrooms (could have used more just didn’t have them available, probably 8 or so would have been good but no more than 12 unless you’re going completely meatless, again, use your own discretion)

1/2 lb loose sausage (I used a mix of mild and hot italian sausage that was in links.  I just squeezed the meat out of the casing, ew.)

1 Tbsp salt (approximate, I never manage to find a measuring spoon when I’m tossing in salt)

1 tsp black pepper (again, approximate)

1 1/2 cup rice (The recipe called for quick cook rice that was uncooked, I didnt’ have any so I set 2 cups of rice to boil before I started anything else and just used 1 1/2 cups of that when it was done. Oh and my rice is pre mixed white long grain and brown, close to half and half)

Directions:
Mix all ingredients together in a bowl (how easy is that?!).  Pack filling into each pepper and place peppers into crock pot.  Replace tops onto peppers.  Add extra filling in around the peppers (I had quite a bit, it filled in around them right to the top without quite covering them).

In crock pot for 3 hours on high then 3 on low (one recipe said 4 on high and another said 6-8 on low so I compromised.  If I were leaving for the day I’d just do 8 on low)

2 responses to “Stuffed Peppers–Veggie and Sausage

  1. Pingback: Meal plans for the week 4/2/12: Getting Started | Mama Mia's World·

  2. Pingback: Take 2: Sausage and Veggie Stuffed Peppers | Mama Mia's World·

Leave a Reply

